Indian News

Delhi Lok Sabha Election Result: BJP Repeats 2019 ‘Clean Sweep’ Verdict but with Low Margins

For the third consecutive time, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has dominated the national capital by winning all seven seats — Chandni Chowk, New Delhi, Northeast Delhi, South Delhi, East Delhi, West Delhi, and North-West Delhi — in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The Election Commission of India declared BJP candidates Ramvir Singh Bidhuri, Praveen Khandelwal, Bansuri Swaraj, Harsh Malhotra, Manoj Tiwari, Kamaljeet Sehrawat, and Yogender Chandoliya as winners on June 4. They secured their respective seats with margins of 124,333, 89,325, 78,000, 93,663, 138,778, 199,013, and 290,849 votes, respectively.

The BJP faced off against the Congress-AAP alliance, a first in Delhi’s Lok Sabha elections, where the BJP previously won all seven seats in both the 2014 and 2019 general elections. This election marked an unprecedented move by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Congress to form an alliance to challenge the ruling BJP. As a result, the BJP faced a direct contest with the AAP in four seats and with the Congress in three seats, shifting from the triangular contests it had encountered since 2014.

Exit polls had indicated that the BJP was likely to secure another victory, predicting a repeat of the 2019 outcome with the BJP expected to capture between 50% and 56% of the vote share. The AAP faced a formidable challenge against the BJP, which secured 57% of the vote share in 2019, maintaining a 16% point lead over the combined vote shares of AAP and Congress.

In 2019, BJP candidates won with margins ranging from over 2.28 lakh to 5.78 lakh votes. However, this time, three candidates won by less than one lakh votes, with only Yogender Chandoliya surpassing the two-lakh mark.

“The development done by Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government in Delhi has won, and the people have completely rejected the corruption of Arvind Kejriwal and the opportunism of Congress,” stated Delhi BJP chief Virendra Sachdeva. BJP leaders attributed their third consecutive clean sweep primarily to the ‘Modi’ factor and the party’s relentless criticism of the Kejriwal government for its alleged involvement in corruption cases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enquiry Form